Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense

Get Juicy!

Get Juicy!

Out with the old and in with the new. This was the theme for me this past weekend and was very timely for this week’s photo challenge, “Future Tense” where the people at WordPress explain:

“In today’s challenge we want you to grab an image from your world that holds the promise or portent of the future. We spend so much of our lives thinking back, or looking ahead, and even though a photo captures only one moment in time, with a bit of thought it can freeze the process of moving forward, or the promise of things to come. Your challenge this week is to seal one such moment in amber.”

The picture above shows our glasses clinking together saying “cheers to a healthy future.” Rewind a few days from that picture and you’d see me and my husband on the couch watching Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. My husband and I have been watching a ton of documentaries lately, and this one in particular really hit home for us. This resulted in us going to Bed, Bath and Beyond with tons of coupons in hand and buying ourselves a Breville Juicer.

Our New Breville Juicer

Our New Breville Juicer

We started juicing immediately with our first recipe being Phil Staples’ Mean Green Juice (Phil was featured in the Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead documentary as a 400+ pound man getting healthy and losing weight by juicing).

Another thing that I purchased was a food processor, and I’m super excited to start making my own vegan cheese, hummus, salsa, sauces….the possibilities are endless! I’ve been reading more about “natural flavors” and how this ingredient could be an animal by-product. It’s in everything and I was devastated that I could be eating beetles or other gross stuff. So, I’ve decided I’d like to start making my own food from scratch and a food processor is a must.

Not only did I get this equipment for the kitchen, but I also started swimming this weekend. It felt amazing and my injury didn’t hurt afterwards at all. I’m looking forward to working out more by swimming at least once a week.

This weekend started an even healthier trend for me that I’m hopeful will continue for years to come.

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense

  1. Pingback: Future Tense | Rebecca Barray

  2. We have the same juicer – we love it!
    The pics look just like our daily routine (; and we were also inspired by Fat Sick Nearly Dead.
    You will feel sooo much better drinking this every day!
    And our next purchase on the list is also food processor. Just because we can make our own sauces and especially Pesto! Can’t wait…
    Happy Juicing! 😦

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense – The ‘Future Tense’ Of Death | Just another wake-up call

  4. Your posts are so timely for me! I recently saw this documentary and it made me want to get a juicer so badly. I haven’t gotten one yet, but it is on my birthday list 🙂 Let me know how your green juice comes out!

    Also, I just watched Food Matters on Netflix and that was another great food documentary. They talked about a whole bunch of research on the benefits of eating a diet that contains at least 51% of raw foods. It got me thinking, so I just thought I’d mention it.

    Like

    • I mean it when I say juicing has been life changing for us. I feel a difference when I don’t have it. I’ll have to post some of the juice combos we’ve come up with – they’re fantastic! I’m pretty sure I’ve seen that one, but I’ve watched so many recently that I can’t remember! Is Joe Cross in that one too? And Dr. Furhman? Netflix has been amazing with their food docs!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Reboot with Joe Cross from Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead | Running on Vegan

Leave a Comment